What’s keeping me up at night…


Unlike my husband, I tend to read one book at a time, all the way through. As a result, I have a stack waiting for attention, and with my new Kindle (OK, it’s my son’s…), reading at night has taken on a whole new dimension.

Right now, I’m blazing through the last 20% of “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest” by Stieg Larsson – the third of the trilogy and by far the most furious read. If you haven’t started reading these yet, I urge you to click immediately on Amazon.com and buy all three, then buy groceries to last a few weeks.

Next on the list:

“Open Community – The little book of big ideas for associations navigating the social web” by Maddie Grant and Lindey Dreyer, friends of mine at SocialFish who rule the social media world of associations and non-profits with their engaging and inspiring knowledge of all things social. Much applies to business as well, so a recommended read for all.

Also on the list: “Open Leadership” by Charlene Li. As with my blog theme, it’s about sharing information and opening the closet doors to let in the light of opinion and commentary in a way that’s a little scary, possibly risky, but highly meaningful to those who get to participate in the scrutiny and analysis of your business. Not for leaders with a feint heart.

And just for a spiritual shot in the arm, I’m re-reading “The Shack” by William P. Young. One of my all time favorites.

Finally, a shameless plug: If you’re really looking for an eye-opening read, and you’re a small or medium business owner or exec, here’s a quick download that could change or validate the way you run your organization: High Growth Companies, by Hinge Consulting and The McLean Group (my husband works for McLean and had a direct hand in this research paper with Hinge). Find out if you’re doing the things it takes to be a high growth firm in today’s economy. You can request this paper at http://www.planyourexit.org/contactus.html. You’ll have to ask specifically because it is not generally available.

So, what’s keeping you up at night?

